Sat. May 18th, 2024

The lightsaber is one of the most iconic props in the history of film. They have grown in popularity to the point that even non-Star Wars fans know what lightsabers are.

There are various types of lightsabers in film history based on how they gained popularity. One of the fans’ favorite weapons from the Star Wars universe is the Anakin Skywalker lightsaber. This particular lightsaber has become legendary and popular because of its different owners who acquired it over time.

This article gives a quick rundown of the three stages Anakin’s lightsaber has gone through as it has passed from one owner to the next.

The three stages of Anakin Skywalker’s lightsaber

The Anakin Skywalker Lightsaber phase

In this phase, the lightsaber was created and was in possession of Anakin Skywalker, who used it for personal use during the clone wars.

Anakin fashioned this lightsaber as a replacement for his previous lightsaber, which was destroyed in combat on Geonosis. He painted it blue to show his devotion to the Jedi Order.

He brandished this blade in most of his battles. During the Battle of Coruscant, he engaged Count Dooku in a duel and ultimately murdered him. Despite Anakin’s numerous victories, this lightsaber was ultimately taken from him by Obi-Wan Kenobi during their fight on Mustafar.

The Luke Skywalker Lightsaber Phase

Obi-Wan Kenobi had this lightsaber for a long time, and then he gave it to Luke Skywalker, explaining that it had always been his father’s desire for Luke to have it when he was old enough. Kenobi also gave Luke some background on the Jedi and Darth Vader.

During his time as an apprentice, Luke learned to rely heavily on his lightsaber, and after receiving Jedi training from Yoda on Dagobah, the lightsaber became an essential weapon. He utilized it as a weapon in most of the duels.

Luke took one of his battles to Cloud City, where he met Darth Vader, the man he blamed for his father’s death. During the ensuing combat, Luke lost his right hand, which was holding the lightsaber. Both his hand and the lightsaber plummeted down from the air shaft. Luke narrowly escaped with his life after refusing to join Vader and losing his lightsaber and appendage.

The Rey Lightsaber Phase

In this phase, the lightsaber is in Rey’s possession. After the fight in Cloud City, the lightsaber disappeared for years until turning up on Planet Tarkodana and eventually in Maz Kanata’s possession. Rey came upon it while looking through Kanata’s belongings, and she was instantly flooded with scary ideas.

Kanata was upset that Rey had been poking around on his belongings, so he approached her, informing her, “it calls to you.” Despite being beckoned by Kanata to take possession of the weapon, Rey refused.   Instead, Finn snatched the weapon and utilized it in combat with Kylo Ren, where he lost it. However, Rey confronted Kylo Ren, won their fight, and took possession of the lightsaber.

Rey’s rationale for retrieving the lightsaber was to restore it to its rightful owner, Jedi Master Luke Skywalker, but Skywalker discarded it. Rey kept it and utilized it in the succeeding fights, during which she reencountered Ren. The lightsaber was broken the second time because of a tug-of-war between the two.


In this post, we have looked at the three stages of the Anakin Skywalker Lightsaber, including the Anakin Skywalker Lightsaber phase, the Luke Skywalker Lightsaber phase, and the Rey Lightsaber phase. We’ve seen three separate holders of the weapon gain possession of it after a military victory in these three periods. The final phase, however, puts the audience in a predicament concerning who would be the next to own the war when it is broken.

By SiGadis